“I choose you. And I’ll choose you over and over and over. Without pause, without a doubt, in a heartbeat. I’ll keep choosing you.” – Unknown

Our paths crossed on a Sunday afternoon  (August 29, 2015). It was my third week in Puerto Rico, and my roommate (Amy) invited me to go to the beach with her and a friend (Brian). I had no idea we were even picking anybody up until Brian called his friend to be ready in ten minutes. As soon as he walked out of his house my heart stopped; here was this incredibly attractive latin man and he was walking my way. I was trying to suppress my giddiness and not act stupid, but I could not help myself from smiling as he opened the door.

It was not easy knowing that the person you are falling for is going to be far away once December came; not only did I originally live in Colorado, he was also starting the US Marines in February. We knew we had many obstacles to overcome but that didn’t intemidate us from growing closer and closer together.

Ever since meeting this man, I have lived a happier life. He is both my best friend and my boyfriend. He has helped me work though so many insecurities and walls I have put up. He cares for me when I am sick, calls me beautiful even when I gained weight or look like I woke up in hell, he calms me down when I am anxious, and supports and cheers me on to be the best.  He’s the man I have always dreamed of, but never thought I would get the opportunity to love. I am so thankful to have somebody in my life who is as loyal, caring, supportive, loving, and thoughtful.

It’s funny because everyone tells me how surprised they are to see me in a long distance relationship since I used to always be so against them. However it only took the right person to change that. I do have to admit that is difficult and hard; everyday we have to deal with  conflicting schedules, sometimes we miscommunicate or there is a lack of communication, most often one of us is stressed or having a bad day, etc. Sometimes the hardest part is not knowing when I am going to see him again.

I will always be by his side as his best friend and his girlfriend. I cannot wait for the day that I will be close by his side and we aren’t separated, however I will continue to wait for however long I have to.

13256488_10208676531342473_4218432636680650131_n

Leave a comment