Stepping into Intimidation (Life After College)

“We don’t stop going to school when we graduate.” ~ Carol Burnett

       It has almost been a full month since I graduated with my bachelors; however, it only feels as if I am just on winter break. Now that my roommate has gone back to school, reality is finally setting in; I am now an alumni of Fort Lewis College.  Alike many others who have already graduated, and many who have yet to feel this phenomenon, it gives me mixed emotions.

       I look back on my four and a half years in college and I find it difficult to find the words to express how I feel about this journey. I entered in like every typical freshman; scared but excited for this new chapter of freedom. At this point thought I knew so much about life already; reality made sure to know that I was wrong about that.

       My sophmore year was one for the records. I got to experience many amazing opportunities, such as: leaving the country for the first time to study abroad with USAC in Puntarenas, Costa Rica, I met people who still remain in my heart to this day, and I finally figured out what I wanted my degree in (Public Health and Spanish.)

       Somehow after returning from Costa Rica, I maintained a job and 21 credits for two semesters. But soon after I found a way to leave again, I managed to study on exchange to University of Puerto Rico in Mayagüez. I had many memorable nights and met the one I now get to call my fiancé!

       Once my senior year and a half came around, I got to experience the “joys” of being in a military relationship and long distance. By the time I graduated I had been in school for about two years; and yes that does include summer.

       Now that I am graduated, there has been a considerable amount of stress lifted from my shoulders but then more stressors are becoming revealed. I am very appreciative of the fact that instead of going to school, doing homework, and going to work is over. However, now I have all this time to reflect on my life; the questions that usually come up are;

Now that I have time to have hobbies, what do I like to do?

How do I save more money, when most of my paycheck goes to bills?

What do I want to do with my degree?

Great, how am I going to pay my student loans once August comes?

What the h*** am I doing?

     I am grateful to being out of college; I just never expected it to leave me with more questions then when I entered… Is this what they call life? If so, I can understand why people want to go back to college; because it is intimidating. Although I do plan on moving to Hawaii with my fiancé, there are many questions that remain unanswered. I do not know if all of these questions will ever get answered or if the answer is going to be one that I like; however I guess, vamos a ver!

Leave a Reply

