Second Time Traveling?!

I have not traveled many places before coming to Puerto Rico, but the places I have gotten an experience to travel to (outside of mainland USA) are Costa Rica (6 months) and Nicaragua (2.5 weeks.) I consider myself extremely fortunate to be able to say I have been to these beautiful places and hopefully my travels will not end anytime soon.

As I was preparing to come to Puerto Rico I was mixed with many emotions (and no it is not because I am a female.) Meeting new people, adventuring to new places, eating/trying new food, the thrill of it all are what I absolutely love about traveling. As time progressed to my departure date, I started realizing I was experiencing more anxiety rather then what I should be…excited. Considering that this was not only my second time leaving Colorado but also when I left for Costa Rica I only felt excited, it did not make sense to me that I was so anxious. As I laid in my bed countless nights (due to insomnia) I realized I was scared due to the fact it wasn’t going to be the same. It wasn’t going to be Costa Rica, I wasn’t going to have the two best friends, it wasn’t USAC, I don’t know who my roommate is, it just was not going to be the same. To be completely honest it took me a couple days to admit that I was even experiencing this problem. I kept saying to myself, “You knew it wasn’t going to be the same,” “You say you like traveling, but your scared of going to Puerto Rico.” and it kept going on and on.

On top of the argument taking place in my head, I had spent less time packing and more time in preparing for my trip by buying things (shower necessities, sunblock, etc.) Typically I would say doing both is very beneficial because if you spend too much time packing it is worthless because you are bound to forget something and if you buy too little then you have to go to the grocery store a lot. I have heard various people from both Costa Rica and Puerto Rico say they have wished they brought more things from home once the first month rolls by. However, there is an amount that is NOT ok. I was so confident that my both of my suitcases were under 50lbs, it hit me like an unexacting bat to the face to when I got to Denver International Airport and both weighed around 80lbs. Luckily, I was about 2.5 hours early and my flight was at night so it was almost deserted. Thus meaning, it was a lot easier to frantically go through my bag and determine on the spot what I needed and didn’t need while occasionally looking up at the people working and the people in line giving me the “I pity you” stare.

Now I am sitting here in Mayagüez, Puerto Rico in my apartment, right next to my roommate (who I absolutely adore) and I have LOVED everyday I am here! It has reminded me to why I absolutely love traveling and makes me crave to do more!

My tips for future travelers who are planning another excursion:

  • It is ok to be nervous when traveling even if you have gone somewhere before. You are only human, and if the place you are going to is completely foreign to you, you have a right to be nervous. People are naturally very unsettled about the unknown.
  • What ever you do, DO NOT compare. It will only end in disaster and will only promote bad thoughts and experiences.
  • Make sure to pack light but not too light. You don’t want to be like me in the airport but you also don’t want to come here realizing you only have two pairs of underwear either.
  • It is normal to be nervous and excited at the same time, although it is rather confusing at times.
  • Try to not overthink, everything tends to get more complicated when you over analyze.
  • Everything will be just fine, and just remember to have fun!

Until next time mis amores! I hope this helped!

IMG_5182IMG_5195

Leave a Reply

