Getting Fit or at least maintaining.

I am laying on a beautiful sandy beaches. Now i am constrained to a chair while trying to convince myself I can study and work on homework. But not to long until I have to walk down nine flights of stairs to run of to my classes knowing that I am required to pay attention to and if my thoughts venture somewhere other then my teacher I am lost for the entire class. The best time of the day is when I am able making food to pass me by or preferably explore restaurants and eat my favorite meal ever…rice, beans, tostanos, and meat. However, I still find time to have a social life because by ten a night I leave my apartment once again to go tall to friends and drink. But who has the time to work out, when there is something always going on?

When I am home I tend to be a rather active person. I enjoy going to the gym because I am able to relieve my built up stress and further procrastinate my homework. I typically have some sort of motivation to get to the gym (all the pages of hot fit females I follow on Instagram) but when I get incredibly busy or when I am traveling my exercise decreases. The longer I stay sediment, the more I start to scrutinize myself…which is not fun for anybody.

My thought process of when I would/could work out went …
I could wake up 6 every morning, and go on a run then…but who wants to wake up that early, and lets not mention how hard it is to wake up at that time when you have been drinking since 3AM the night before.
I could wait until after school is out and go then… but then factor in the fact that I am exhausted by that point of the day from school and the heat, I am thinking of all the homework I should be doing and whether it is raining or not and it is possible to go on a run.

Slowly but surely I am starting to find ways to stop making excuses and pull a Shia LaBeouf and JUST DO IT. I found that even though I am a complete zombie at 6AM, it is a lot easier to convince myself to run at that point rather then at 6PM. I am also trying to attend zumba classes and yoga classes. Although I do not exactly like the classes sometimes, at least it is movement! I do have to give a lot of credit to my roommate who helps me be motivated to run. Everybody needs a cheerleader, she is mine and I am hers.

Because I am away and don’t have access to everything I would if I was at home, I have to be creative. Instead of doing weights, I do a workout at home. Instead of weighing myself, I take photos of body in different angles every month to later compare. I also personally like to measure different parts of my body and record it and see where and how much I have gained or lost.

My Tips:

  • Don’t try to loose weight while abroad, just try to maintain it.
  • Stop making excuses, there is time for everything.
  • Prioritize your time.
  • Attend classes like Zumba and Yoga that the school offers. Classes like these are fun, and people are there to attend the class, not judge who sucks or not.
  • Work out with people/find people who like running, swim, etc.
  • Like weights but don’t have access? Research at home workouts, or find a close by gym.
  • Take photos of your progress.

Until next time, pura vida mis amores!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Tara says:

    Very well said miss Madeline
    I enjoy reading your blogs please continue to write 😘😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

